Experiencing changes and changing experiences

Hey! So it’s been quite a while since I last blogged. It took me a really long time to think of a topic for my new post, till I finally decided on this one. So yeah, I decided to blog about how my life has changed ever since I started going to college.

For starters, it’s been REALLY tiring.  Travelling to and fro, using different modes of transport. My school was barely a 15-minute walk away from home, and so I was used to that for the 12 whole years of my school life. Travelling is fun, though. Yes, at the end of the day, I’m exhausted, and cannot wait to sleep, but sitting in the train, listening to music most times, sometimes communicating with people around, is a lot more fun than it sounds, I assure you. Sometimes the crowd is not so friendly, and that’s a major buzzkill, but you learn to deal with that too, eventually. After a while, people fighting for seats, and the constant pushing and pulling in the crowd isn’t as frightening. This is just the travelling part of it, though.

Making friends was another one of the aspects of going to college. I mean, yes, I’ve made friends before. But, in school, people were different. They were warm and friendly; probably because we were with each other for 12 years. But in college, things were different. Not entirely, ‘cause all of us were new to the whole process, so it was easy to get along with most people. I found quite a lot of people who I was really comfortable with, potential close friends. And then there are those few people who are just really reserved, and arrogant, and stick around only with their group of friends, refusing to make new friends. But yeah, you get used to all that too, eventually. Different kinds of people—sweet, friendly, kind, warm, rude, aggressive, weird, arrogant, proud, blabla.

Lectures. Lectures in college are a lot different than the classes we had in school. And even the way they’re taught. Also, in school, you had to attend the entire day, whereas you can bunk lectures in college when you feel like it. You can’t go on bunking though, since my college is pretty strict regarding bad attendance. In school, SOMETIMES, teachers actually cared to ask why you were absent the previous class, and even though that was annoying, it made you feel wanted. Only a couple of teachers do that in college, simply because you’re a grown up now, and you have to be dealing with life on your own and everything. I don’t have a problem with that, but I’d like to feel special and wanted every once in a while, like in school.

There are a lot of extra-curricular activities in college, which makes the whole experience even more exciting. Our college deals with all-round development, though. So if you’re signing up for any organization, you have to make sure it doesn’t clash with your lectures, or come in the way of your studies.

Yeah, college can get a little hectic sometimes, but it’s all worth the while.

College life has been a WHOLE lot different than school life. Not only educationally, but even my social life has undergone a transition, since I’m being made to interact with different types of people. Moving from school to college is like a caterpillar turning into a butterfly, after breaking out of its cocoon. It’s a major change–overwhelming, really. But it’s fun. It’s like you’re suddenly dealing with the outside world, and you gradually learn to become tough enough to face it; unlike school, where you kept interacting with the same people all the time.

I’d be lying if I said I didn’t miss school. I do miss my school. I’ve had a lot of fun times in school, which will forever be etched in my memory. But all that is long gone now. I love my college, and I wouldn’t want to leave it and go back to school life, even if I had the chance.

-CF

Leave a Reply

