The Kite Runner

Reading is one of my favorite pastimes. Somewhere around mid-November last year, I went on a reading spree. I even lost count of the amount of books I read in that period. This was all thanks to my friends, who LOVE reading just as much as I do (or probably even more). They kept introducing me to new books as soon as I was done reading one. One of my friends suggested I read “The Kite Runner” by Khaled Hosseini, because it was a “very touching” book. Luckily for me, one of my friends had a copy of it and she willingly lent it to me.

 

I had absolutely no clue what the book was about, and reading the summary behind the book left me more confused than ever. I decided to read the book, nonetheless. (The size of the book played a huge role in this decision. I sometimes like to think of reading huge books within a short time as a challenge, teehee). Anyway, I started off with it. I’ll admit, the beginning chapters were really confusing to me. And I have an attention deficiency problem. So if I cannot understand things clearly, I lose interest and tend to not pay attention. FORTUNATELY, I continued reading the book (I actually kept thinking of the challenge ;)).

 

After a couple of chapters, the book began to make sense. The story had me engrossed because it was so interesting, and I couldn’t bring myself to put the book down, even if I had to greet somebody sitting in front of me or something. I even remember rushing my parents back from a wedding party we had gone to because I wanted to read my book.

 

What struck me most was Hassan’s character. It was inspiring and that of a true and loyal friend, a rare personality. I immediately developed a liking towards him. I normally do not show too much emotion (okay, none at all -_-) while reading a book, and I keep my thoughts to myself. Certain parts of this book, though, actually made me cry. GENUINE TEARS! I didn’t even realize I was crying till a noticed a drop on my book.

 

 As the story unfolded, I began to get more and more engrossed in the book. I wouldn’t say the book changed my life, but I definitely learnt a lot from it pertaining to my life. I’ve been engrossed with other books before, too, but this one was something else. I have a problem with recollecting the story of a book I read; but I can tell you EVERY DETAIL of “The Kite Runner” in SEQUENCE. And I’ve only read it once. I’m not boasting or anything, just trying to explain the impact the book had on me. I was overjoyed when I found out the movie was airing on TV today, and I actually made sure I woke up at 6AM, just to watch it. I’m not exactly one to review books/movies, so I’m just going to say that I really enjoyed it—both the book AND the movie. (Even though they skipped out stuff in the movie from the book). If you haven’t already read the book, stop reading this blog and go search for a copy of the book already! Being his first book, I think saying Khaled did an amazing job with it, would be an understatement. That’s all I have to say, you need to read the book for yourself to know what I mean. Be warned: you WILL be filled with emotion, at least, if not shed a tear or two.

 Image

 

-CF 

2 thoughts on “The Kite Runner

  1. I adore the honesty of your views. I love the way you put things across – straight and from the heart. I too LOVE reading and so I was drawn to this. I loved Kite Runner too and am now reading ‘and the mountains echoed’ by the same writer. He clearly has matured even more. and of course I love your blog. Since you like reading, take a glance at mine if you are inclined. It’s at http://www.nirbhayasindia.com
    Cheers! following you. . .

Leave a Reply

