Self-belief.

It is a universal fact that everything in life is invariably related to self, whether you realize it or not. After all, we too are a part of this world; but somehow, most of us don’t treat ourselves as we would treat those around us. In today’s post, I want to talk about my views on self-belief and why I think it is so essential for each of us.

Personally, I’ve always underestimated myself, and very often, I still do. Granted, I am not the best at many things I do, but by telling myself that, I only make it worse. There have been times when people around me seem to have more confidence in me and my abilities, but no matter how much I’m reminded about my potential, deep down, I always have that nagging feeling inside me. Back when I was in school, I had a terrible image of myself. I always filled my mind with negative thoughts; always found someone who was better at something than me; always compared myself to people; always put myself down by saying I was never good enough; and always landed up telling myself that maybe I just wasn’t cut out for anything that I was trying to do. I always thought of myself as an “average” student, and even though I knew I could be smarter, I never even tried to put in a little effort.

I surprised myself in year 10 at the board exams. It was a crucial year, and it was important that I did exceptionally well in order to get into the college of my dreams. I worked as hard as I could, and I never gave in to my feelings of giving up. They say hard work pays off, and it definitely did. I did better than I expected to, and I got into the college I always wanted to. From then, a newfound sense of confidence has been instilled in me. I find it comparatively easier to believe in myself now. Yes, I have my weak moments, but they are fewer than before. I go all out when it comes to achieving big things. I give it a shot – it no longer depends on whether I am capable or not; I do it anyway.

When it comes to the topic of self-belief, the first person that comes to my mind is Virat Kohli, who is my favorite cricketer, and also someone I look up to. Anyone familiar with the sport knows him, and also how successful he is. To have achieved so much at such a young age is one of the many things I find inspirational about him. He has admitted that self-belief has helped him come a long way. He has always been a very self-confident person, and that’s what helps him stay calm in matches, and also perform brilliantly. Sure, he’s been gifted with the talent and skills, and he’s been practising since he was a kid, but his belief that he can achieve what others consider as unachievable is the real secret behind his success.

Being gifted with a particular talent and believing in oneself goes hand-in-hand. No matter how talented you are, if you don’t truly believe you are capable of doing something, you will never succeed in doing it. Each of us is blessed with some gift or the other, some even more than others; but what matters is actually going out and being confident that you can achieve something and thus, making full use of the talents/skills you’ve been gifted with. I don’t want to sound preachy, but of late, I’ve encountered a lot of people who compare themselves with others, and thus feel inferior. It’s sad, because I think each of us is unique, and each of us faces our own challenges, and in the end, it all boils down to whether or not you believe you are capable of doing something.

 “The person in life that you will always be with the most, is yourself. Because even when you are with others, you are still with yourself, too! When you wake up in the morning, you are with yourself, laying in bed at night you are with yourself, walking down the street in the sunlight you are with yourself.What kind of person do you want to walk down the street with? What kind of person do you want to wake up in the morning with? What kind of person do you want to see at the end of the day before you fall asleep? Because that person is yourself, and it’s your responsibility to be that person you want to be with. I know I want to spend my life with a person who knows how to let things go, who’s not full of hate, who’s able to smile and be carefree. So that’s who I have to be.”  – C. Joybell C

 

“It doesn’t matter if thousands of people believe in you, unless You believe in You.”
―  Maddy Malhotra.

Image

Image

-CF

Leave a Reply

