Playin’ It Cool: A Coldplay appreciation post.

Image

I’ve been a Coldplay fan for about a couple of years now. For me, it has always been about their music (obviously. Who in their right mind wouldn’t like their music anyway?). Now, even though I called myself a fan, I still hadn’t (okay, haven’t) listened to all of their songs, I only knew the front man’s name, and I hadn’t even watched any of their performances live! (On YouTube; because let’s face it, they never will come to the Narnia that I live in.)

 

This has been a LONG summer – in terms of the unbearable heat, and also my extremely long, incessant vacation. I’m not complaining, though. I sometimes just wish I could find something fun to do that would make me feel less useless about myself. So anyway, a couple of weeks ago, I was on YouTube, watching random videos and all, when I stumbled upon a video of one of Coldplay’s live concerts. I decided to finally watch it, since I had heard so much about how heavenly” and “energetic” and “thrilling” their live performances are, AND SO IT BEGAN. About seven live performances later, I found myself frantically searching for interviews of the band: I wanted to know what these amazingly talented people were like behind all of their instruments and voices that make up all of their beautiful songs. I took it as my job to gather all the information I could possibly handle. In order to make it seem like a real job, I made up a “project” (only because it makes me sound all business-like and important) that I named “Playin’ it Cool”, (I KNOW, I’M A GENIUS!) which would involve me listening to a lot of Coldplay songs, and watching a lot of Coldplay videos, and probably blogging about my inferences in a better way later on. I know, WHAT A LIFE!

Image

Coldplay in concert. Pure bliss. Chris Martin has THE best stage presence.

Image

 

Since then, I indeed have watched A LOT, as also gathered A LOT of information, and honestly, it’s hard to not be a fan of them. Thanks to Chris, I also found myself digging out my old piano that I’d stashed away in a god-forsaken corner of my house some five odd years ago. (I’ve never been much of a success with producing music.) Needless to say, it was terrible, and I hid it back after two days of trying; promising myself that I would stick to listening to music only, henceforth.

Thanks to all the interviews I watched, I now hold a somewhat different attitude towards this band: I find myself respecting and admiring the musicians for the persons that they are, as well as for the music that they produce. From the interviews, I learnt that they are not just a bunch of the most talented people I’ve lived to witness, but they’re also really genuine, funny, dorky, and above all, humble. They never let the success (which they’ve had a lot of) get to their heads, and that, in my opinion, is what has kept them going strong for all these years, right from their inception in 1996. Their new album “Ghost Stories” is out in a couple of days. I’ve had the good fortune of listening to it already, and let me tell you, it is just out of this world! And don’t get me started on Chris’ voice. Sweet Lord! Those nine songs are all I’ve been listening to, on repeat, for the past few days. That is all I shall say, not just because my vocabulary is limited, but also because I could never do them justice by writing a stupid, small, unprofessional review.

Just so this blog doesn’t seem pointless like one of the many conversations I have with myself, I take this opportunity to express my gratitude to Coldplay. For being selfless and sharing their talents with the world; for never giving up when times were hard; for all of the wonderful, emotion-filled songs that I can blast at any time of the day (or night), no matter what mood I’m in; for staying the same all these years and being as genuine and down-to-earth as successful people can be; and above all, for making me feel less useless and providing me with a fun way to pass my time.

THANK YOU, COLDPLAY. It’s hard for me to put into words what I think about your music, and so I won’t attempt to. I wish you the success you deserve, and may you continue to make music and win hearts from all over the world for years to come.

Also, to all of you reading this blog: Hi. I don’t want to force you, but I recommend listening to Coldplay. You will not regret it. And if you do, well, too bad.

 Image

-CF.

3 thoughts on “Playin’ It Cool: A Coldplay appreciation post.

Leave a Reply

