Coming home

I usually write musings when I’m sad or hurting. Somehow pain is easier to express than moments of joy. Or maybe I’m so caught up in those joy-filled moments, that I just live through them instead of trying to immortalise them by writing my feelings at that given moment.

That’s what I want to change with this. My musings in the past have been depressing and were, I’ll admit, not written in the best of moods anyway. The fact that I’ve never written any sort of musings that would evoke joy and happiness hit hard, so here I am.

This is about loving someone and being loved in return, an idea contrasting my Unrequited Love musing; or well, just a progression of it, if you’d like to look at it that way.

It’s like coming home.

You’ve been away too long, searching for meaning, searching for hope,
Losing yourself, and eventually, the purpose of it all.
Everything is bleak and dull,
Sometimes you accept it – maybe you don’t deserve the love you give, you tell yourself.

That’s the danger of unrequited love.
You always land up being hurt.

But stop and think about how wonderful it feels to love someone wholly,
To give that person your all when they’re down and feeling lonely.
And then think about how much more wonderful it’d be to be treated like that in return
By that same someone.
The one you’ve loved to love all this while,
The one to whom you gave your all,
Is now loving you right back in equal measure – maybe more,
Giving their all to you, and then some.

Herein, too, lies the danger of being hurt. But you accept it.

Because, you see, you’re at home.
No matter what happens to you here,
You know you’re safe.

 

[Special dedication to you – you know who you are. Thank you for rocking my world.]

 

-CF

Leave a Reply

