The End of an Era: Goodbye, Castle!

So this might be an overdue post, but to be honest, I’d never really thought of writing this until, like, moments ago. So many repressed emotions resurface every time I think of this, but I’m going to try to articulate whatever I can into this simple post.

Castle is over. If you know me at all, you know how drastic the news is to me. The show that I’ve been obsessing about for 6 years straight has come to an end and I have nothing else to obsess about anymore. I mean, sure, I could just move on to another TV show and unhealthily binge watch it and make it my new obsession much like everyone else in today’s generation (with regards to TV shows AND their relationships), and that’s what I told myself when the news surfaced anyway, which is why I refrained from this post.

That wasn’t all I said to console myself, though. I’d be lying if I said I was sad about the show ending, because I think with everything that was happening to the show, it not being renewed was probably the best thing to have happened to it. Harsh words, but so true. To be honest, the show didn’t feel the same in the very last season and it was kind of a disappointment; but I, being the loyal follower I am, continued to watch it week after week (I did conveniently delay in watching it some weeks, but shush) with waning enthusiasm. I liked the end of season 7 and personally think it should have ended there, because season 8 was quite frankly a waste of time. So yes, in a way, I was relieved when I learnt that it was cancelled, because I was so fed up of all things Castle-related, which was honestly so sad, because that very show actually meant the world to me once.

So I bid farewell to the show with a simple facebook post and never looked back…

Except today, when the bloopers came out and I watched the last-ever bloopers we would ever get from that crazy, amazing bunch of people. It kind of hit hard then, especially since we’re nearing September now and I’m so used to bracing myself for a whole new season of Castle as I’ve been doing all this while, and it just feels SO weird.

I took to writing this because I want to acknowledge the fact that I am actually saying goodbye to a very important part of me – a part that I might have outgrown eventually, but that doesn’t change the fact that it was a part of so many important years of my life. Castle taught me so much, made me laugh and cry, gave me so many new amazing friends, helped me actually LOVE fictional characters and invest so much of my time and energy in them and in the show in general. It doesn’t matter how disappointing the end might have been, because the only memories I have of the show and that whole era in general are the fun, warm ones. This blog post seemed like a fitting way to say goodbye because this blog contains all of my important life events; Castle will always remain one of the most important parts of me, and I’m so honoured and glad to have ever watched that show.

Using the most apt (probably also the most cliched) ending for this post (excerpts from Alexis’ graduation speech):

“Endings are inevitable. Leaves fall. You close the book. You say goodbye…Today we say goodbye to everything that was familiar, everything that was comfortable…But just because we’re leaving, and that hurts, there are some people who are so much a part of us, that they’ll be with us no matter what. They are our solid ground, our north stars, and the small clear voices in our hearts that will be with us…Always.” 

Thank you, Castle – and the cast and crew – for being those people for me; for being such an important part of my growing up. Farewell. 🙂

newclubimage-castle-38436047.png

Castle cast&crew 2015

 

-CF

Leave a Reply

