flash forward

Lying in our bed
With you so close to me
Your eyes the only thing I can see.

I always thought darkness was beautiful.
But there’s something about this combination –
Most sublime form of God’s creation.

No words are needed,
We used them up through the years.
Nothing says “I love you” like your shiny tears.

I want to devour you
With this simple gaze we hold
Our eyes narrating on their own a thousand stories untold.

This was never what we pictured together.
Why aren’t we physically suffocating one another yet,
While each trying our best to win an age-old bet?

But nothing will ever compare
To hearing your breath beside me
Every night, for the rest of my life, until eternity.

-CF

Leave a Reply

