Coldplay Live [19.11.2016]: sweet dreams are made of these…

Got me feeling drunk and high, so high, so high…

Sigh. Coldplay hangover is very real and hard-hitting.

I went to a Coldplay concert. Which means I saw them perform LIVE. Which…wow, I shouldn’t really have to explain further; you know by now how big a deal this is for me.

To be honest, I wasn’t entirely sure if I wanted to write this (even after I was halfway through – this post was in my drafts for a whole week), mostly because I have never considered my writing worthy enough to do justice to their level of genius; but they’ve been such a heavy influence not only on this blog and this blog post, but also on my life in several ways for the past six years now, and I think it’s safe to say that seeing them live was one of the greatest things to have happened to me, which means it definitely deserved a place in my blog. (I actually struck off an item from my bucket list!)

I have been surprisingly calm (on the outside, of course) right since the start, i.e. since the official announcement of their concert was made. The only time I stressed was when I tried to buy tickets for myself, but that didn’t work out, so I let it go. Again, with a weird sense of calm. Thankfully, my strangely lucky friend Nia (she’s won too many things in her life – it’s safe to say that a good majority of her possessions are things she won from giveaways) won tickets and was too generous to take me along (maybe she kind of owed it to me because I was responsible for whatever little she’d heard of Coldplay). It didn’t kick in when she texted me. It didn’t kick in when Chris addressed all Indians in a video saying he would see us soon. It just never hit me for the longest time that my dream was coming true.

19th November 2016. This day was both the worst and best day of my life. I woke up extremely excited – I think it finally hit me that I was seeing four of my favourite people in the world in person for the FIRST TIME EVER – and continued to be that way for, a good three hours, at which point I was made to stand in the longest line in the heat of the sun, with the gates opening only around two hours later than the timing mentioned.

So, let me get this clear. I enjoyed the festival. I hated the circumstances. It was too hot, and there were too many people, which is just all that is needed to give rise to a bad mood. Thanks to the horrid, merciless sun, I now have a terrible tan (also because of my stupid decision to not wear sun-screen, but shush) and I had a terrible headache (and almost passed out!) throughout the show. The festival had a great, enjoyable line-up (mostly) and was fun, but the only reason I stood in that crowd for nine hours straight was because I just had to see Coldplay through my own eyes and not through the screens. So, thank you, Keziah and Salonie, for being so amazing and pushing your way through the crowd of people just to get me to the best possible place for me to have a wonderful experience. I couldn’t have done that for myself, definitely.

I don’t want to go into a detailed description of that festival. As wonderful as it was, the first 6 hours or so were, on the whole, irrelevant to me.

img_20161119_204143

“Oh I think I landed in a world I hadn’t seen” was all of my feelings and thoughts when I saw Chris prance about on stage with my own eyes and Guy, Jonny and Will dance around behind him. From that moment, it all went uphill. They had a full 90-minute set and to say I was thrilled for all those 90 minutes would be an understatement.

img_20161119_215407img_20161119_214318img_20161119_214132img_20161119_204807img_20161119_204248

I never knew what to expect from a Coldplay concert. I mean, yes, I’d watched tons of live performances, but I don’t think anything can prepare you for something of THAT magnitude. It’s just one of those things where you have to be there to truly experience it. Coldplay is truly just out of this world. I’m so grateful to have been able to experience that for myself, and I would definitely want to go back as many times as I can (and never leave), but for now, this will suffice.

Thank you, Coldplay.

The light that you left me will everglow 🙂

img_20161119_215845

-CF

 

Leave a Reply

